# **CITY AND COUNTY OF SWANSEA**

## **NOTICE OF MEETING**

You are invited to attend a Meeting of the

# **STANDARDS COMMITTEE**

At: Committee Room 3, Civic Centre, Swansea.

On: Friday, 10 October 2014

Time: 9.30 am

#### **AGENDA**

|   | AGENDA   | Page No. |
|---|--|----------|
| 1 | Apologies for Absence.   |          |
| 2 | Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interest.  | 1 - 2    |
| 3 | Minutes. To approve as a correct record the minutes of the Standards Committee meeting held on 29 August 2014. | 3 - 5    |
| 4 | <b>Meeting with the Chair of the Scrutiny Programme Committee.</b> Councillor M Day – 9.35a.m.                 | 6 - 8    |
| 5 | Standards Committee Annual Report 2013/14.   | 9 - 26   |
| 6 | Code of Conduct Casebook ( for information).   | 27 - 38  |

**Patrick Arran** 

Head of Legal, Democratic Services & Procurement

Thursday 2 October 2014

**Contact: Democratic Services - 36820** 

## **STANDARDS COMMITTEE (4)**

#### Councillors

#### **Labour Councillors: 3**

| J C Bayliss  | Clive E Lloyd |
|--------------|---------------|
| Phil Downing |               |

### **Liberal Democrat Councillor: 1**

| L Graham Thomas |  |  |
|-----------------|--|--|

| Name              | Term of Office | Name             | Term of Office |
|-------------------|----------------|------------------|----------------|
| Jill Burgess      | 19.10.2012 to  | Clive Walton *   | 22.02.2005 to  |
|                   | 18 10.2018     |                  | 21.02.2015     |
| Meirion Howells * | 01.08.2008 to  | Jennifer Gomes * | 05.12.2008 to  |
|                   | 31.07.2016     |                  | 04.12.2016     |
| Adrian Novis *    | 22.02.2005 to  |                  |                |
|                   | 21.02.2015     |                  |                |

#### Others:

| Executive           | One copy                                    |  |
|---------------------|---|--|
| Patrick Arran       | Head of Legal, Democratic Services &        |  |
|                     | Procurement – Electronic                    |  |
| Tracey Meredith     | Deputy Head of Legal, Democratic Services & |  |
|                     | Procurement                                 |  |
| Huw Evans           | Head of Democratic Services                 |  |
| Mike Hawes          | Head of Financial Services                  |  |
| Janet Hooper        | Directorate Lawyer                          |  |
| Democratic Services | 1 Copy                                      |  |
| Archives            |   |  |

### **Total Copies Needed – 27**

#### NOTE:

- 1. \* Denotes that the **period of office cannot be extended further**.
- 2. The **term of office for Independent Members** can be for not less than 4 nor more than 6 years. They can be reappointed for one further consecutive term but that term cannot be for more than 4 years.
- 3. **Members of the Local Authority** who are members of the Standards Committee will have a term of office of no more than 4 years or ending at the next ordinary local government election following their election, whichever is the shorter.
- 4. The Standards Committee **shall not sit if the Independent Members are outnumbered by Councillors**. A Councillor shall remove him/herself from the meeting in order for the business to be transacted.